The Skull EP (2016 Tee Pee Records)

Skull EPThe Skull have been quite busy since the release of 2014’s “For Those Which Are Asleep”. Touring the U.S. and playing a few hometown shows, and once again getting some new members to the fold. The EP was done to help spread the word for the upcoming extensive European tour the band will embark on, that will see the band overseas for a good part of the first few months of 2016. To introduce the new members, Rob Wrong, of Witch Mountain on guitar, and Sean Saley, ex-Pentagram on drums, the band will open two Chicago shows for Sleep.

The EP kicks off with the lone new song “The Longing”, which opens with a powerful and beefy drum fill to cement the addition of Saley, a la Slayer’s 1994 release of “Divine Intervention”, to dispel any concerns that the changing of the heavy time keeper was in incapable hands. The new track showcases heavy, blusey riffs that further the genius of original guitarist Lothar Keller, and just what a heavy and aggressive bass player The Doom General, Ron Holzner is. The vocal chops displayed by Ol’ Doompa, Eric Wagner just keep getting better as The Skull forge ahead with new original material.  In fact, it would be hard to point out a period where Wagner has sounded better. Next up is a re-recorded version of the Trouble classic “The Skull”, taken from the album of the same name. The production is great to bring back to life an old favorite. The EP then features the single taken from the bands debut album,  ” A New Generation”, and two live tracks, another Trouble classic “Assassain” from the debut album “Pslam 9”, and “Til the Sun Turns Black” off of “For Those Which Are Asleep”. So this release has a little bit of everything celebrating  the bands past and giving a glimpse of the future.

Track Listing:

1- The Longing
2- The Skull
3- A New Generation
4- Assassian
5- Til the Sun Turns Black

Get the new EP here

Review By: Jeff Blackburn

60 total views, 0 views today