Marzi Montazeri featuring Tim Ripper Owens- The Uprising ( 2017 Crunchy Western Records)

Marzi Montazeri storms back into your speakers, as he releases his brand new ep “The Uprising”,  featuring former Judas Priest and Iced Earth frontman Tim “Ripper” Owens. That isn’t all Marzi has up his sleeve, as he brought drummer Adam Denoth and bassist Chris Collier along for this musical uprising. Many people outside of Texas may have heard the second coming on the debut album from Philip H. Anselmo & The Illegals “Walk Through Exits Only”, but on “The Uprising”Marzi steps out of the shadows and unleashes his version of Texas crunchy groove.

“The Uprising” starts off with the eerie intro “11”, then without mercy rips into “Monster Within”. The drums pummel right from the start, with a thunderous bass that crushes all in it’s wake. The guitars shred with scalpel like precision. The solo in the song has an eerie resemblance to another Texas legend, that would gladly pass the torch to Montazeri. Next up is “The Uprising” which if the listener still hasn’t yet started thrashing around after the first track, will definitely make you move. Owens vocals blend nicely with the guitar harmonics and assault on your earholes by Denoth and Collier. Again, the solo is of epic magnitude, channeling parts of Eddie Van Halen, and the late Dimebag Darrell.

Overall, “The Uprising” fuels the need and want for more sounds of The South. The musicianship is top notch, and sets the bar for the new groove coming out of Texas. “Ripper” delivers the vocal chops that has made him a household name in metal. Now that the word is out, tell everyone you know that the next guitar legend they’ve been waiting for has been found. Worship in the riffs and solos that have been bestowed upon you. Brag like you knew this long ago and have been praising the High Priest of Distortion and his Priestess since you heard his first album “The Need”. If you have been looking to fill the void of guitar greatness, you’ve just had that void filled without the cookie cutter vanilla that has become the standard of today.

Track Listing:

1) 11
2) Monster Within
3) The Uprising
4) Without Warning
5) Who Is Alive
6) Viento Del Espiritu

Find out more at

225 total views, 1 views today