CD Review MEGADETH – Dystopia (2016 Universal)

megadethdystopiacd-300x300Ah the spice of life, new thrash to crush in the new year. MEGADETH drops on our laps this electrifying album.  MEGADETH has put out a few tracks leading up to the full release of Dystopia. From the first few tracks the media sang great praises. The addition of the newest members to the fold Kiko Loureiro and Chris Adler (Lamb of God) put into this band a fortress of professionalism and credibility. As Jamey Jasta would call Adler “Calves of Steel” you just know that the power is there!

Diving into this release you get the vibe that this is one of those that are filled of political propaganda and thrash.  Well you would be correct. But “Dystopia” is not just your normal thrash. This release is powerful. Mustaine is on top of his game on this one and the wolves are set to feast. This has to be some of his greatest work to date.  His great lyrics control those path of the song and the main riffs which are phenomenal overwhelm the mind.  The thing that really excited me about this release is Kiko’s soloing. It is such a nice opposite sound of Mustaine’s. It is really smooth, melodic and mind-blowing. A perfect fit. It’s not just a chuga chuga shredding solo fest, its emotion and melody sewn and interwoven within. “The Threat is Real” gives you a nice setup for what the release is all about. The title track “Dystopia” is a nice metal possible mainstream song. It is mellower but make no mistake its not a sissy track. Some of the best soloing is in this track. “Fatal Illusion” is that track that makes you feel like you just fell back a good couple decades. Explosive and a nice moshing track. “The Emperor” bleeds Megadeth and great lyrics and is another one of those tracks you want to blast in your car. Plus you’ll make those faces you think Dave is making when he is singing it. “Last Dying Wish” is one of the most powerful tracks off “Dystopia” some great lyrics and the riffs are great to follow along with. Solo’s are blistering.

Overall: This is simple its a 9.5/10 without a doubt. I loved this release from beginning to end. “Its a blistering inferno unloaded to the masses”.

Megadeth, Dystopia Track Listing:

01. The Threat Is Real
02. Dystopia
03. Fatal Illusion
04. Death From Within
05. Bullet To The Brain
06. Post American World
07. Poisonous Shadows
08. Look Who’s Talking
09. Conquer Or Die
10. Lying In State
11. The Emperor
12. Last Dying Wish
13. Foreign Policy (FEAR cover)

42 total views, 0 views today

About the Author

Dom R (Admin)
Thanks for taking a few seconds to read this. I have been with MTRS since its inception. Love doing the live broadcasts and interviewing my hero's and other very interesting people over the decade of this. MTR is my therapy. Have always looked at this site and station as being part of the solution for the artists. We have NEVER pushed our own agenda, it has always been in the name of the bands, the music and the direction in which we have an influence in helping. We are part of the solution. Its simple! We are here to help bands and entertainers succeed. We go way far beyond of what is expected of a station/PR piece.