CD Review FIRST SIGNAL – One Step Over The Line (Frontiers Music S.R.L. 2016)

FIRST_SIGNAL_osotl_COVER_HICD Review FIRST SIGNAL – One Step Over The Line (Frontiers Music S.R.L. 2016)

FIRST SIGNAL are at it with Harry Hess in the front and unleash a magical release titled “One Step Over The Line.” This is a melodic hard rocking record with some great vibes that trickle throughout this release. “Love run Free” the opening track definitely sets the stage for this release. It is that great throwback sound to the early 80’s. You would definitely feel like you was at a mix up of Foreigner meets Def Leppard. It’s a refreshing sound a vibe to it.

Armed with Producer Dennis Ward this record soars to new lands and such a nice crisp sound. Very creative approach to this one. “Still Pretending” a solid ballad settles the soul and brings an instant smile to your face. It has that melodic and harmonious prowess that really pulls you into it. “Kharma” is a great track and keeps the vibe in-tact from the beginning of the record. Great guitar solo. This album is extremely cohesive, it doesn’t have any songs that just doesn’t belong on this one. “She Is Getting Away” is that power ballad track that bops you upside your head and makes you really listen to the structure of the song and the great vocals, hooky chorus, and strong keyboards. “December Rain” seems to be one of the strongest tracks on this release. The vocals are strong, lyrically a masterpiece, chorus is dead-on, and is just a great song. You’ll be humming along with it by the end of the song, that’s how strong this one is. “Weigh Me In” has to be my favorite track on this release. It has a glorious kind of sound to it. It’s a happy song, and has that anthemic feeling to it. Vocally all you can say is wow. It’s a powerhouse song.

Overall: If you are into the AOR/Arena music and melodic rock music and looking for something that will touch your soul, you need to get FIRST SIGNAL’s “One Step Over The Line.” You will easily be soothed!


  • 01.Love run free
  • 02.Love gets through
  • 03.Still pretending
  • 04.Broken
  • 05.Kharma
  • 06.Minute of your time
  • 07.She is getting away
  • 08.December rain
  • 09.Weigh me in
  • 10.Pedestal
  • 11.One step over the line

Musicians on the album include the outstanding new talent Michael Palace on guitars and bass, Daniel Flores on drums and keyboards and background vocals from Hess Harem Scarem bandmate (and Red Dragon Cartel singer) Darren Smith, Alessandro Del Vecchio, Nigel Bailey, Daniel Flores, Rolf Pilotti and Angelica Rylin.
Another Melodic Rock gem hits the market and an absolute contender for the AOR album of the year!

Harry Hess – Lead and backing vocals
Michael Palace – Acoustic, electric guitar and bass
Daniel Flores – Keyboards and Drums
Additional musicians:
Francesco Marras (solo on She is getting away and Love gets through)
Backing vocals: Darren James Smith, Harry Hess, Alessandro Del Vecchio, Nigel Bailey, Daniel Flores, Rolf Pilotti and Angelica Rylin
Produced by Daniel Flores

62 total views, 0 views today

About the Author

Dom R (Admin)
Thanks for taking a few seconds to read this. I have been with MTRS since its inception. Love doing the live broadcasts and interviewing my hero's and other very interesting people over the decade of this. MTR is my therapy. Have always looked at this site and station as being part of the solution for the artists. We have NEVER pushed our own agenda, it has always been in the name of the bands, the music and the direction in which we have an influence in helping. We are part of the solution. Its simple! We are here to help bands and entertainers succeed. We go way far beyond of what is expected of a station/PR piece.